im a musician thinking of getting DS-10... a little help plz

blocks

im a musician thinking of getting DS-10... a little help plz

Post by blocks » Sun Jun 19, 2011 8:52 am

Hi there,

I've written lots of boring background info while arranging my thoughts and its all quite unimportant so please jump straight to the questions at the bottom (i left it just in case though:) ) I should say that I don't yet own either a DS or the ds-10 software but i'm leaning towards getting the combination to use as a new instrument in its own right and could do with some opinions before i make my final decision.

EDIT... It really was too boring.

QUESTIONS:

1. I am hoping that a nintendo ds with ds-10 would be be great for;

A - Working out and rcording simple musical ideas late at night when i come home from gigs and I can't play guitar cuz i'll wake up my g/f and the neighbours
B - Learning all about (korg) synths, the sounds you can make and how they can be distorted
C - Learning what you can do with a kaoss pad
D - Learning about drum patterns and sounds
E - Learning how to construct and arrange an elctro song
F - Exploring some ways to improvise and create live electronic music

Do you think that sound's about right or am i dreaming?

2. I live in Europe and i've been reading the pita suff about the plus version and the region aware Dsi's. As such i currently believe that my best option (bearing in mind my very limited budget) would be to import the ds-10+ cart from the US for ~€30 on ebay and get a local DS lite for €120. The alternative would be buying a local DS-10 for around €30-40 and a DSi for €150 (over budget really).

does this sound like a plan? The main point of getting the ds would be for the ds-10 software so i figure that i might as well get the plus version rather than the better DS. If i turn into a ds-10 freak then i can always import a us dsi for the extra synth channels later on :)