Does the DS-10+ really do 12 voices simultaneously?

Coyote

Does the DS-10+ really do 12 voices simultaneously?

Post by Coyote » Tue Feb 01, 2011 7:14 pm

Hi gang, total newb here, with a very basic question.

I've seen a lot of hype about how the DS-10 Plus can do 12 simultaneous voices, but outside of press releases and reviews (and the back of the box) I can't seem to find any evidence that this is the case. I've read the manual, searched online, I've tried fiddling with Song mode, but it seems like all you really gain with Dual mode is double the number of patterns.

Does the Korg DS-10 Plus really do 12 voices at once?

Sorry for the incredibly basic question, but a lot of searching hasn't yielded a straight answer yet.

Decktonic

Re: Does the DS-10+ really do 12 voices simultaneously?

Post by Decktonic » Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:09 pm

12 voices = 2 instruments on Deck A + 4 drum tracks on Deck A + 2 instruments on Deck B + 4 drum tracks on Deck B.

So with a Nintendo DSi, the KORG DS10+ software can do 12 voices at once.

BUT it can't do that with a Nintendo DS or DS Lite.
THISISDECKTONIC.com | [url=ttp://soundcloud.com/decktonic]latest tracks[/url] | releases

Coyote

Post by Coyote » Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:22 pm

Okay. Next question, how do I turn it on? The manual only has instructions on playing A, B, or A then B.

Again, sorry if this seems like a dumb question.

Cfgk24

Post by Cfgk24 » Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:29 pm

to get 12 Voices - on First Menu screen - select Single Player - the select dual mode.
It will tehn ask you to load a File onto Deck A
It will repeat this and ask you to load a File onto Deck B

Then the keyboard will come up - press Play and it will play deck A and B simultaneously thus giving you 12 voices.

Change which Deck (A or B) you are operating using the L button

It takes a little getting used to as it can get confusing as to which Deck you are using.