DAWs

Decktonic

DAWs

Post by Decktonic » Thu May 20, 2010 6:19 pm

Apologies if this is in the wrong forum.

So I'm working on improving my DS10 tracks and finding the 16 pattern limit very frustrating. It's good for the creative process because it limits my options and forces me to be creative but I usually don't have enough room for transitions. I think what I need to do is start using a DAW so I can record the stems of my track or even sample the various instruments and modify as I need to mix the whole track. I've never worked with any DAWs before (other than once toying around with Fruity Loops a LOOONG time ago) and they seem rather daunting to me. I just know that I want good support for patterns, the occasional piano roll, really good support for using/mixing/chopping external audio samples, and the usual features. I'm going to try out some stuff over the next week but I figured this would be a great place to start a thread on using DAWs with KORG DS10. If you have any that you use, please share your process and any tracks that you have done with them. I'll share my own findings as I go.
THISISDECKTONIC.com | [url=ttp://soundcloud.com/decktonic]latest tracks[/url] | releases

ChrisLody

Re: DAWs

Post by ChrisLody » Thu May 20, 2010 9:05 pm

Hey Decktronic

Over the years I've used quite a few DAWs in the hunt for one that suits me perfectly. I currently use FL studio (aka fruity loops), Energy XT2 and Cockos Reaper. All of these DAWs would be able to record stems of audio out of ds-10 but they vary vastly in terms of other features and price, but I'd have to say if i was moving up from ds-10 to a software studio i'd probably forget about recording ds-10 and just dive straight in make music with them directly using virtual instruments plugins. A lot of what can be learned from ds-10 will translate directly to subtractive synth plugins.