Hello from NW Wisconsin....

jminor

Hello from NW Wisconsin....

Post by jminor » Tue Jun 26, 2012 7:31 pm

While researching Detune's new iOS app, "iYM2151", I found their videos for the M01. After a little more digging found more info on the M01 and the DS-10 & 10+. I'm not a musician, but am discovering ways to play on my iPad, and am interested learning more about the DS-10 & M01 systems. Could you tell me the primary differences between the M01 & DS-10 / 10+? The idea you can make a complete song on one of these devices blows my mind, and what little I've heard so far is wonderful......
The iYM2151 is a powerful FM synth workstation, but looks to be complicated. What peaked my interest is the DS-10/M01 workstations look pretty user friendly......
I look forward to learning more from this forum.....
Sincerely,
John

Decktonic

Re: Hello from NW Wisconsin....

Post by Decktonic » Wed Jun 27, 2012 10:06 am

I think that's just about it, the DS10 / M01 are more user-friendly when it comes to sequencing a full track. You could get the iMS-20 on iPad, and that's emulating the same synth as the DS10, but the iMS-20 offers less for sequencing entire songs (you only get 1 synth instead of 2, and you are more limited in what you can do with your drum tracks).

If you are really into the sound, it might be worth getting a used Nintendo DSi and KORG DS10+ :)
THISISDECKTONIC.com | [url=ttp://soundcloud.com/decktonic]latest tracks[/url] | releases

jminor

Post by jminor » Thu Jun 28, 2012 2:16 am

Thanks Decktonic, I will look into a DSi & DS-10, or DS-10+. What are the major differences between the DS-10/10+ and the M01?
I've been listening to some of your music, BRAVO! It's hard to believe it was created on a DS device.....

Decktonic

Post by Decktonic » Thu Jun 28, 2012 1:52 pm

Thank you!

The DS10/DS10+ is a synthesizer. You can create all sorts of different sounds with it. Like any synthesizer it has a certain style of sound and a lot of limitations.