Hi there, NDS composers

Skyleo

Hi there, NDS composers

Post by Skyleo » Sat Aug 25, 2012 1:44 pm

Hello all !

I'm an hobbyist composer, and I recently discover the Korg's workstation on the Nintendo DS. I instantly fall in love with these amazing software, although it was the first time I could try a true synth though.
Actually, I'm into music for around 5 years now (and composed for almost 4 years), began when I was 14 years old. At this time, many musicians was already using VSTi, so I unfortunately missed the synth's era.
Nevertheless, I've always been interesed in "old-school" sound, since I, at first, begin music to compose like my favorite video games composers (that's why I bought a JV-1010). Moreover, I made my firsts compositions in Daigasso Band Brother and Nitro Tracker, and even now, I constantly compose with DAW like Cubase, but also Modplug Tracker.
In short, I can compose in modern style, with some huge VSTi, but I also love old sound and musical limitations, and there are the reasons I have a lot of fun with Korg ds !

Anecdotally, I was checking youtube if there was any 'NDS composer" in the net, and I found bryface : I loved so much his work ! As a consequence, I looked for other composer and this is how I found mistyminds, then inktrans (such good composers at the same time) and finally, the korg ds-10 forum.

Btw, my musical influences are quite large : video games composers like Akari Kaida, Mitsuda, Hamauzu, Sakimoto, Sakuraba, Koshiro, Yamane... But also a lot of other musicians, in many different styles ; from Ryuichi Sakamoto to Tribal Tech, Herbie Hancock to ELP, Maurice Ravel to Kate Bush, or Jimi Hendrix to Underground Resistance.
I play the classical and jazz piano because I learn both in musical acadamy and music faculty.